Address to the Youth of 2030

When writing the story of your life, don’t let anyone hold the pen, except God of course, because we all know that without Him, we are nothing, let us let him help us write the story of our lives the Bible is always there to guide us, it doesn’t lack, it is very sufficient for us to use in our daily lives. Given that exemption let me repeat my words, when writing the story of your life, don’t let anyone hold the pen. The story is yours and not theirs. They may be a part of it, but it’s still not theirs. Don’t let other people control your life, you only have one so live it right. I will share to you my experiences, which is written in the story of my life. Some of it may be regretful. Some of it may be bad, but all I can say is, it’s just a bad experience, not a bad life.

My parents are very strict. Everything they say must be done in the fastest and most organized way, and if not, the hanger, the belt or the slipper will be slapped somewhere in your body and their words will cut through you. I was raised like that, to follow the orders of my parents, which is good biblically speaking. As the eldest, I was always blamed for the mistakes of my siblings. Everything is my responsibility. So I kind of hated my siblings because of that. But little I know that that discipline shaped me on who I am today, which is a civilized and values oriented citizen of the Philippines. I wish you understand my point there, that parents are the ones who shape us in to who we will be in the future.

Life is never easy for those who dream. Like most of you, I was once a student. I also felt the hardships that you feel. I also experienced the shame that teachers bring to students when they fail or say something wrong. But the thing you should know is the best dreams happen when you’re awake. Never let those hinder you, yet, make those things as an inspiration and motivation to you as youths. Everything in your life is a reflection of a choice you have made, if you want a different result, make a different choice.

You can’t have a better tomorrow if you don’t stop thinking about yesterday. Move on, because you can’t start the next chapter of your life, if you keep re-reading the last one. The message I want to say to you, as the new generation’s hope and as the youth of 2030, is to learn from me. Just like what Mahatma Gandhi said “my life is my message.” Thank you and to God be the glory.

Leave a Reply

